News

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Staff Picks: One Good Reason

July 10, 2020
Catherine

Julie, our Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed One Good Reason: a Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love, a devastating yet hopeful memoir by Great Big Sea founder Sean McCann. Here is her review: 

Staff Picks: If It Bleeds

July 2, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed Stephen King's latest release, a short story compilation that was filled with "remarkable characters and unusual plotlines". Here is her review:

Staff Pick: We Are Not From Here

June 26, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer recently enjoyed We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez, a YA novel about a teen trio driven by desperation to cross the Mexican-U.S. border. Here is here review:

Staff Pick: Dead Mom Walking

June 17, 2020
Catherine

Julie Wendland, Readers' Services Coordinator for the Library, recently enjoyed Dead Mom Walking by Rachel Matlow, a funny yet tear-jerking memoir. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Find your Path

June 4, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed Find Your Path: Honor Your Body, Fuel Your Soul, and Get Strong with the FIT52 Life by Carrie Underwood, a new lifestyle book that is available in a variety of formats at the library. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Deacon King Kong

May 21, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer Robinson of our Amherstview Branch recently enjoyed reading Deacon King Kong by James McBride, a book the New York Times has described as "a supercharged urban farce lit up by thunderbolts of rage." Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Housekeeper

May 8, 2020
Catherine

Recently, Marg Wood of the Napanee Branch has been enjoying the intricately-plotted psychological thrillers of Natalie Barelli.

Here is her review of The Housekeeper:

Staff Picks: In the Dream House

April 29, 2020
Catherine

Karen Nordrum of our Tamworth Branch recently read In the Dream House, a heart-wrenching memoir by Her Body and Other Stories author Carmen Maria Machado. Here is Karen's review:

Staff Picks: Dear Haiti, Love Alaine

April 21, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer recently enjoyed reading the amusing Young Adult novel Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Malika Moulite, which offers a blend of romance, mystery and adventure. Here is her review:

Dear Haiti, Love Alaine  is an intriguing alchemy of how reality and magic mix to create personal truth. This high drama coming-of-age story resembles Star Wars as an exploration of a dark legacy which juxtaposes grand and individual perspectives.