News

Adventures in East Asia

July 17, 2020
Catherine

If my reading list is any indication, 2020 must be the year that East Asia-set books flooded the Western market. Whether literary fiction, historical fiction, fantasy or mystery, there is no shortage of compelling new novels set in this vast, diverse region. Some are new translations while others are English originals, but they will all suit armchair travelers desperate to immerse themselves in new cultures. 

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Amendments to the Mandatory Face Coverings Order: Commercial and Municipal Establishmentsin KFL&A

July 17, 2020
Lindsey

With Stage 3 Reopening beginning Friday, July 17, Dr. Kieran Moore has made amendments to the Mandatory Face Coverings Order for Commercial and Municipal Establishments in KFL&A.

Please click here to find the memo highlighting changes to the order and frequently asked questions about face coverings.

My Favourite Fishing Spots in Lennox & Addington County

July 15, 2020
Ashley Rae

Lennox & Addington County has a very special place in my heart. I grew up in this region and am so grateful to be able to showcase just a small sample of the fishing opportunities found here. Here's a short list of 3 of my favourite fishing spots here in L&A (that I've experienced so far).

 

Stage 3 Openings begin on July 17th

July 14, 2020
Rob Plumley

On July 13th Ontario announced the next step in their reopening framework. Lennox and Addington County will move into Stage 3 as of Friday, July 17th. As a result, nearly all of our businesses and public spaces will be able to reopen with proper public health and workplace safety measures in place.

The L&A County Dark Sky Viewing Area - The Best of Ontario’s Dark Side

July 12, 2020
Joe Gilker

Amateur astronomers have it tough these days. Urban sprawl is expanding, and with it, the light pollution is destroying our views of the night sky. Seeing anything but the moon, planets and brightest stars in close proximity to these dense urban centres is difficult to impossible. This is  true anywhere, but extremely prevalent in Southern to Southeastern Ontario along the Highway 401 corridor where I live. This region has the highest population density in Canada, and as a side effect, some of the worst and farthest reaching light pollution in the country.

Survey: Improving Child Care for Families in Ontario

July 10, 2020
Lindsey

Parents,

The Ministry of Education is looking for your feedback on how to improve child care in Ontario. 

Dog Days of Summer

July 10, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

The phrase "dog days of summer" is actually a reference to the fact that, during this time, the Sun occupies the same region of the sky as Sirius, the brightest star visible from any part of Earth and part of the constellation Canis Major, the Greater Dog. This is why Sirius is sometimes called the Dog Star.

Staff Picks: One Good Reason

July 10, 2020
Catherine

Julie, our Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed One Good Reason: a Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love, a devastating yet hopeful memoir by Great Big Sea founder Sean McCann. Here is her review: 

Notice of Construction: County Road 15 -Township of Stone Mills

July 9, 2020
Lindsey

Please be advised that on Monday July 20, 2020 Township of Stone Mills crews will be commencing with road reconstruction on County Rd 15 from civic address 1991 to just south of civic address 1438 (approximately 2km north of the Landfill Site to approximately 1km south of the Landfill Site) 

This work generally consists of drainage improvements (ditching & culverts), adding granular material and road resurfacing.

Some tree clearing and site preparation has already commenced and will continue through the week of July 13, 2020.