News

Staff Picks: The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Chantell McMahon recently enjoyed The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman, a quirky read about a female protagonist and her struggles relating to family, love and life. Here is her review:

Top of my TBR List

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Even for the most voracious reader, it’s nearly impossible to keep up with the amount of intriguing books released each season. My to-be-read list (TBR) is constantly growing but the following books have inched their way up to the top of my ginormous TBR pile.

Read-alikes for The Handmaid's Tale

September 26, 2019
Catherine

With all of the hype surrounding Margaret Atwood’s new book The Testaments, plenty of attention has once again returned to the original, The Handmaid’s Tale.

Staff Picks: Red River Girl

September 26, 2019
Catherine

Andree Duval recently read Red River Girl: The Life and Death of Tina Fontaine, a well-researched account of the disappearance and murder of Tina Fontaine, a young girl from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba. Here is her review:

“The Diary of Young Girl” Comes to the Museum

September 24, 2019
Joanne Himmelman

Museums collect so that we tell the stories of our past and present. History can be warm and sunny, telling tales of family, love, community do-gooders, technological advances, medical breakthroughs, ancient places discovered underfoot. But from the happiest of histories - human misery and sadness are often underlying. 

1Joanne.jpg

Enjoying a Fall Hike at Parrott's Bay Conservation Area

September 23, 2019
Rob Plumley

Autumn is my favourite time of year to hike a trail. The air is crisp, the views are spectacular, and if you're lucky you could see an abundance of wildlife along the way.

Take a Fall Colour Driving Tour in Lennox & Addington

September 16, 2019
Rob Plumley

The autumn leaves are really starting to pop right now in Lennox & Addington so now is the perfect time to plan a tour of our roads. Last fall we went for a scenic drive along some of the quiet country roads in the Township of Stone Mills. As you'll see below, the views were spectacular!

We're not quite at this level of colour just yet, but in the next few weeks you can expect a view as amazing as this!

Request Driving Tour Itineraries

Staff Picks: Haben

September 16, 2019
Catherine

Jennifer Robinson from the Amhestview Branch recently enjoyed Haben, a compelling new memoir from a deafblind woman who navigated, and ultimately triumphed over, Harvard Law. The following is her review: 

Staff Picks: The Royal Guide to Monster Slaying

September 13, 2019
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying by Kelley Armstrong, which she descibes as the perfect novel for young (and old) adventure seekers. Here is her review:

County Road 1 (Bridge Street) and County Road 2 (Dundas Street) Intersection Redesign

September 13, 2019
Lindsey

A community consultation session was held on September 12, 2019 at Napanee Town Hall (124 John St., Napanee) in regards to Schedule B Class Environmental Assessment (EA), County Road 1 (Bridge Street) and County Road 2 (Dundas Street) Intersection Redesign.

The material from the public consultation can be found here: Dundas and Bridge PIC Boards.pdf