News

3 Google Tools for Your Business

March 25, 2019
Hollie Peterson

Google’s mission statement is to “organize the world’s information and make it universally accessible and useful.” And with 65.5% of the search engine market share, if your customers are looking for you, chances are many are using Google to do it. They offer a number of free tools that can help you optimize your visibility online and increase your success in the SEO world. Let’s have a look at 3 free google tools you may want to explore:

 

Google My Business

Staff Picks: Carnegie’s Maid

March 22, 2019
Catherine

Kristin Maloney recently enjoyed Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict, a compelling novel of historical fiction that is said to be a good choice for fans of Downton Abbey. The following is Kristin's review:

Staff Picks: By Chance Alone

March 14, 2019
Catherine

Julie Wendland, Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed By Chance Alone by Max Eisen, a moving memoir that made it on to the Canada Reads 2019 shortlist. Here is her review:

Literary Trends 2019

March 14, 2019
Catherine

When you spend a lot of time around new books you begin to pick up on some trends. One or two popular books focus on a certain topic, or provide a comparable reading experience, and before you know it publishers are churning out piles of similarly-themed books.

Do you have any records about my ancestor?

March 14, 2019
Lisa Lawlis

I often hear questions that sound like “can I find it online?” or “can I find it on Ancestry?” when researchers ask for help and I remind them that not all archival descriptions are available online. I highly recommend to contact an Archivist when doing genealogical or historical research since Archivists are able to help find information and explain how records have been organized. By only searching one database or one finding aid you may miss resources that contain information related to your genealogy or historical research.

See The Ballad of D'Arcy McGee at the Museum on March 19th

March 13, 2019
Rob Plumley

It's time for a fun and informative edition of Tuesday Night at the Museum in Napanee. On March 19th at 7pm, experience The Ballad of D'Arcy McGee.

Written and presented by author, actor and playwright Mark Finnan, with Peterborough traditional musicians and singers Glen Caradus, John Hoffman and Michael Ketemer, and Betty Bennett as ‘Henrietta Huffington’. The dramatic story, told through lively narrative, music and song, of the life and accomplishments of Irish born Thomas D’Arcy McGee, considered by many to have been the visionary Father of Canadian Confederation.

March Break Madness 2019

March 8, 2019
Catherine

The County of L&A Libraries have scheduled five great events that are taking place during March Break. Each of these events are free and registration is not required. Drop in for some fun! See below for further details. 

Maker Madness in Amherstview

Plans Underway for Mountain Biking Trails in the L&A County Forest

March 7, 2019
Rob Plumley

Big changes are coming soon to one of Lennox & Addington's County Forest properties. This spring, a series of mountain biking trails will be developed within the forest in the quiet hamlet of Flinton in Addington Highlands. 

Lennox & Addington County owns five swaths totalling over 1,100 acres of forested lands in the Northbrook and Flinton areas. Officially known as "Forest 2", the 127-acre managed forest currently has about 3 kilometres of laneway around the perimeter that is ideal for leisurely strolls, bike rides, or skiing or snowshoeing during the winter. 

Staff Picks: My Lovely Wife

March 6, 2019
Catherine

Fans of Paula Hawkins, Clare Mackintosh or Ruth Ware should read ahead for Marg Wood's review of My Lovely Wife, a novel of psychological suspense that will be arriving at the library soon:

The soon to be released debut novel My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing may just be the guilty reading please of 2019! It is an extremely dark, twisted and compulsively readable tale of the seemingly perfect couple next door who are anything but perfect.

Inspiring Business Possibilities in L&A County

March 5, 2019
Hollie Peterson

I wanted to write about the benefits of having a small business in L&A but sometimes it’s hard to write down things that seem obvious. Some of the benefits are practical: It’s cheaper. Start up costs are more manageable. It’s easier to make a big splash and stand out in a smaller community. The bricks and mortar are part of it. But when I take a step back and really analyze the benefits of having your business in a smaller community, like Lennox & Addington, you really start to realize the perks. We have a beautiful place with a wonderful mix of old and new.