News

Cottage Escapes

July 20, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

Another summer escape is the cottage – whether you are heading up to yours or simply dreaming of owning one (especially now), we have helpful books on keeping your cottage looking great, or fiction that will help you dream of that day.

Canadiana Cottage

Adventures in East Asia

July 17, 2020
Catherine

If my reading list is any indication, 2020 must be the year that East Asia-set books flooded the Western market. Whether literary fiction, historical fiction, fantasy or mystery, there is no shortage of compelling new novels set in this vast, diverse region. Some are new translations while others are English originals, but they will all suit armchair travelers desperate to immerse themselves in new cultures. 

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Dog Days of Summer

July 10, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

The phrase "dog days of summer" is actually a reference to the fact that, during this time, the Sun occupies the same region of the sky as Sirius, the brightest star visible from any part of Earth and part of the constellation Canis Major, the Greater Dog. This is why Sirius is sometimes called the Dog Star.

Staff Picks: One Good Reason

July 10, 2020
Catherine

Julie, our Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed One Good Reason: a Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love, a devastating yet hopeful memoir by Great Big Sea founder Sean McCann. Here is her review: 

Curbside Service Update

July 3, 2020
Catherine

As you know, all branches of Lennox & Addington Libraries remain closed to the public until further notice due to provincial orders relating to COVID-19. In June, we launched curbside pickup at select branches and have been slowly expanding services. Here's the plan (so far) for July...

 

Schedule as of July 6th:

Amherstview: Tuesday (10am-2pm) & Thursday (4-8pm)

Napanee: Monday (10am-2pm) & Wednesday (4-8pm)

Tamworth: Saturday (10am-2pm)

Staff Picks: If It Bleeds

July 2, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed Stephen King's latest release, a short story compilation that was filled with "remarkable characters and unusual plotlines". Here is her review:

Christmas in July

July 1, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

“Christmas in July,” festivities can offer a fun diversion or a way to plan ahead for the approaching holidays, only 5 months away. Try your hand at a Christmas craft, make some Christmas treats - summer style (strawberries and whipped cream!), or relax with a cheery Christmas tale. Look to Australia or anywhere in the Southern Hemisphere who celebrate this holiday in the sunshine.

Christmas with the kids:

Happy Canada Day!

June 30, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

Canada, the nation, was created on July 1, 1867 with the British North America Act or Constitution Act of 1867. This year we are celebrating our 153rd anniversary with a new approach – together, but apart. Even though we cannot have our larger scale celebrations with Canadian music and entertainers, we can enjoy a lovely Canadian summer day with a great Canadian read.

A Canadian Story Hour:

Readers' Advisory On The Go

June 28, 2020
Catherine

While select library branches are now open for limited curbside service, we have a lot of patrons who are missing the days when they could enter the library to browse the shelves. If you are a reader who chooses books to read by browsing, read on for some alternative options for finding your next great read.