News

Staff Picks: The Lost Girls of Paris

April 15, 2019
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Lost Girls of Paris, the latest offering of Pam Jenoff, the author of the immensely popular The Orphan’s Tale. Inspired by true-life events this novel recounts and celebrates the heroic efforts of female spies during WWII. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: True Places

April 12, 2019
Catherine

Patricia Richard recently enjoyed True Places by Sonja Yoerg, a novel that serves as "a touching reminder of the importance of family, nature and belonging." Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Good Riddance

April 12, 2019
Catherine

Karen Scott, Bath Branch Coordinator, recently enjoyed Good Riddance by Elinor Lipman, which she describes as "an engaging, witty, intricately plotted story of both family relationships and romance." Here is her review:

Staff Picks: The Last Woman in the Forest

April 5, 2019
Catherine

Jennifer Robinson from the Amherstview Branch recently enjoyed The Last Woman in the Forest by Diane Les Becquets, a brand new novel of psychological suspense that she describes as "an intricately woven, atmospheric story that will keep you guessing until the end." Read her review here:

Staff Picks: The Book Artist

March 29, 2019
Catherine

Andree recently enjoyed The Book Artist by Mark Pryor, the eight installment in a series said by Publishers Weekly to have "a fascinating cast, an intriguing subplot, and a gorgeous Parisian setting that add to the story’s appeal." Here is Andree's review:

Staff Picks: Carnegie’s Maid

March 22, 2019
Catherine

Kristin Maloney recently enjoyed Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict, a compelling novel of historical fiction that is said to be a good choice for fans of Downton Abbey. The following is Kristin's review:

Staff Picks: By Chance Alone

March 14, 2019
Catherine

Julie Wendland, Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed By Chance Alone by Max Eisen, a moving memoir that made it on to the Canada Reads 2019 shortlist. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: My Lovely Wife

March 6, 2019
Catherine

Fans of Paula Hawkins, Clare Mackintosh or Ruth Ware should read ahead for Marg Wood's review of My Lovely Wife, a novel of psychological suspense that will be arriving at the library soon:

The soon to be released debut novel My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing may just be the guilty reading please of 2019! It is an extremely dark, twisted and compulsively readable tale of the seemingly perfect couple next door who are anything but perfect.

Staff Picks: Nightfall Berlin

February 28, 2019
Catherine

Andree recently enjoyed Nightfall Berlin by Jack Grimwood, which she described as "a smartly written novel that moves at break-neck speed." Read her review here:

Staff Picks: Homes

February 20, 2019
Catherine

Kelly recently read Homes: A Refugee Story, written by 15-year-old Abu Bakr al Rabeeah as he recounts what it was like to spend his childhood in the middle of a civil war. Read her review here: