News

Staff Picks: The Yawns are Coming

October 22, 2020
Catherine

Marg enjoyed reading The Yawns are Coming by Chris Eliopoulos to her grandkids more than once this past summer. Here is her review of this delightful picture book:

Staff Picks: Scaredy Snacks

October 14, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed perusing this "boo-tiful" picture book just in time for Halloween. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: American Royals

September 11, 2020
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed American Royals by Katharine McGee, a fun YA novel that has been described as Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: How The Penguins Saved Veronica

September 3, 2020
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed How The Penguins Saved Veronica by Hazel Prior, a delightful contemporary read that is perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: The Skin We're In

August 5, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer recently read The Skin We're In by Desmond Cole, a bestselling non-fiction title that documents examples of anti-black racism in Canada. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Survivor Song

August 5, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently read Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay, a fast paced thriller set amid an apocalyptic rabies outbreak. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Staff Picks: One Good Reason

July 10, 2020
Catherine

Julie, our Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed One Good Reason: a Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love, a devastating yet hopeful memoir by Great Big Sea founder Sean McCann. Here is her review: 

Staff Picks: If It Bleeds

July 2, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed Stephen King's latest release, a short story compilation that was filled with "remarkable characters and unusual plotlines". Here is her review:

Staff Pick: We Are Not From Here

June 26, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer recently enjoyed We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez, a YA novel about a teen trio driven by desperation to cross the Mexican-U.S. border. Here is here review: