News

Staff Picks: The Remaking

October 19, 2019
Catherine

Are you in need a book for October’s Goodreads book club "witches" theme or a fan of horror films? If so, check out Julie's review of The Remaking by Clay McLeod Chapman.

We need your feedback!

October 18, 2019
Catherine

During the month of October, we are requesting that our program and event partipants across Lennox & Addington take a short survey that will help inform our programming lineup into the New Year and beyond. 

Completing a survey will give you chance to win a $100 Indigo gift card. You may complete a survey (and earn a draw entry) for each program you attend in October. 

Staff Picks: The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Chantell McMahon recently enjoyed The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman, a quirky read about a female protagonist and her struggles relating to family, love and life. Here is her review:

Top of my TBR List

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Even for the most voracious reader, it’s nearly impossible to keep up with the amount of intriguing books released each season. My to-be-read list (TBR) is constantly growing but the following books have inched their way up to the top of my ginormous TBR pile.

Read-alikes for The Handmaid's Tale

September 26, 2019
Catherine

With all of the hype surrounding Margaret Atwood’s new book The Testaments, plenty of attention has once again returned to the original, The Handmaid’s Tale.

Staff Picks: Red River Girl

September 26, 2019
Catherine

Andree Duval recently read Red River Girl: The Life and Death of Tina Fontaine, a well-researched account of the disappearance and murder of Tina Fontaine, a young girl from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba. Here is her review:

P.A. Day @ The Library

September 23, 2019
Catherine

This upcoming P.A. Day, Friday, September 27th, we'll have a ton of fun activities happening across our branches. Please note that Bath, Tamworth and Yarker Branches are closed on Fridays as usual, but we'll have stuff going on into Saturday.

 

All Branches -- 

BRICKTASTIC BUILD OFF

Staff Picks: Haben

September 16, 2019
Catherine

Jennifer Robinson from the Amhestview Branch recently enjoyed Haben, a compelling new memoir from a deafblind woman who navigated, and ultimately triumphed over, Harvard Law. The following is her review: 

Staff Picks: The Royal Guide to Monster Slaying

September 13, 2019
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying by Kelley Armstrong, which she descibes as the perfect novel for young (and old) adventure seekers. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: The Book of Dreams

September 3, 2019
Catherine

Kristin Maloney recently enjoyed The Book of Dreams, the new novel by Nina George, the bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Little French Bistro. This is "a fascinating new novel that explores the thresholds between life and death." Here is Kristin's review: