News

Menzel Centennial a scenic hike through a nature reserve class provincial park

October 15, 2019
Rob Plumley

2459 County Road 15, 
613-336-2228

#AskanArchivist

October 11, 2019
Lisa Lawlis

With my thoughts in digitization and updating our online database (and let’s face it, since it's October I am also thinking about apple pie recipes) I often forget to slow down and remind myself of how researchers interact with resources at the archives. 

A tweet from the Society of American Archivists on October 2nd, 2019 during #AskanArchivist day pulled me away from scanning a photograph album from 1872 to ponder the question of how researchers locate and engage with records online:

 

A Colourful Paddle on Deerock Lake

October 9, 2019
Rob Plumley

Since I started kayaking last year I've had a few people mention to me how great a spot Deerock Lake is to paddle. I've had it on my list of places to visit and I finally made the trip on a sunny morning in early-October.

They weren't exaggerating. Deerock Lake Conservation Area may be the absolute most beautiful place I've ever been to.

Route Itineraries for a Perfect Colour Tour

October 7, 2019
Rob Plumley

Autumn is my favourite season. The humidity of the summer is mostly gone, the nights are cool, and the days are still warm enough to keep the heavy jacket in the back of the closet.

With the exception of raking the lawn - and raking again, and again - there's nothing not to like about this time of year. Despite the work that goes along with keeping the yard in order, seeing the colours that Mother Nature unveils every fall is well worth it. 

Request Driving Itineraries

Experience an Autumn Paddle Along the Napanee River

October 2, 2019
Rob Plumley

The views from the water this time of year are amazing. The brilliant colours of fall reflecting off still lakes and rivers are spectacular, and the cool autumn air makes the experience all the more enjoyable.

Staff Picks: The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Chantell McMahon recently enjoyed The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman, a quirky read about a female protagonist and her struggles relating to family, love and life. Here is her review:

We need your feedback!

September 30, 2019
Catherine

During the month of October, we are requesting that our program and event partipants across Lennox & Addington take a short survey that will help inform our programming lineup into the New Year and beyond. 

Completing a survey will give you chance to win a $100 Indigo gift card. You may complete a survey (and earn a draw entry) for each program you attend in October. 

Top of my TBR List

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Even for the most voracious reader, it’s nearly impossible to keep up with the amount of intriguing books released each season. My to-be-read list (TBR) is constantly growing but the following books have inched their way up to the top of my ginormous TBR pile.

Read-alikes for The Handmaid's Tale

September 26, 2019
Catherine

With all of the hype surrounding Margaret Atwood’s new book The Testaments, plenty of attention has once again returned to the original, The Handmaid’s Tale.

Staff Picks: Red River Girl

September 26, 2019
Catherine

Andree Duval recently read Red River Girl: The Life and Death of Tina Fontaine, a well-researched account of the disappearance and murder of Tina Fontaine, a young girl from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba. Here is her review: