News

Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN) Submits Proposal for Ultra-Fast Gig Internet Project

March 1, 2021
Lindsey

(March 1, 2021) – The Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN) has made a formal submission to the federal and provincial governments seeking support to deliver ultra-fast Gig internet to homes and businesses across the region. The submission has been sent to federal Minister Maryam Monsef, who has responsibility for rural economic development, and Ontario’s Minister of Infrastructure Laurie Scott, who is tasked with rural broadband matters for the province.

International Women's Day

February 26, 2021
Jennifer Robinson

On March 8 Canada recognizes International Women’s Day, celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women and girls, and raising awareness of the work left to be done. 

Zero Discrimination Day

February 26, 2021
Jennifer Robinson

On March 1, the United Nations recognizes Zero Discrimination Day, promoting equality before the law. The UN encourages citizens to speak out so that everyone has equal opportunity to achieve their dreams. This year the theme coincides with discrimination faced by women and girls in all their diversity.

 

Children’s Books

Pandemic Picks for Families

February 25, 2021
Patricia Richard

Picture book authors and illustrators amaze me -- in very few pages and with minimal words they are able to address subjects that are real, are powerful and often the messages contained in them are so helpful for parents, caregivers and teachers trying to help their children understand. As this pandemic sets in to its second year I am thrilled that there are some picture books that capture the way the world is for us today.

Staff Pick: The Exiles

February 25, 2021
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline, a sweeping historical novel set during the early days of Australia's settlement by the English. Here is her review:

Back to Where the Artifacts Are

February 24, 2021
Alannah MacGregor

I am happy to say that I am writing this blog from my desk actually inside the museum building. Cue celebratory fireworks! Having travelled through the twilight zone of working from home for the first time, I have come out the other side refocused, reenergized, and really really happy to be back.

Volunteers Needed - Rural Frontenac Lennox & Addington COVID Vaccine Clinic

February 24, 2021
Lindsey

In collaboration with FLA Ontario Health Team and multiple partners, RFLA are preparing for future vaccine clinics in RFLA region.  A clinic will be held 7 days/week, including 1-2 days/week at satellite sites in the region. Hoping to start before the end of March.

NOTE: RFLA do not yet have any vaccines, nor have clinic dates or locations been finalized.

Volunteers needed for these roles:

Staff Pick: The Captive

February 18, 2021
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed The Captive by Fiona King Foster, a gripping, tightly written country noir for fans of Winter's Bone, The Kept, and The Donnellys Must Die. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Woman Outside My Door

February 11, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Woman Outside My Door, a creepy, fast-paced domestic thriller from debut author Rachel Ryan. Here is her review:

Keep KFL&A Region Open and Safe

February 9, 2021
Lindsey

Tuesday February 09, 2021- Yesterday, the government of Ontario announced a regional approach to lift the Stay-at-Home order and move three regions in Ontario to Green-Prevent level, including the Kingston, Frontenac, and Lennox & Addington (KFL&A) region.

This change will be effective Wednesday, February 10, 2021 at 12:01 a.m.