News

Staff Picks: The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Chantell McMahon recently enjoyed The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman, a quirky read about a female protagonist and her struggles relating to family, love and life. Here is her review:

Top of my TBR List

September 30, 2019
Catherine

Even for the most voracious reader, it’s nearly impossible to keep up with the amount of intriguing books released each season. My to-be-read list (TBR) is constantly growing but the following books have inched their way up to the top of my ginormous TBR pile.

Read-alikes for The Handmaid's Tale

September 26, 2019
Catherine

With all of the hype surrounding Margaret Atwood’s new book The Testaments, plenty of attention has once again returned to the original, The Handmaid’s Tale.

Staff Picks: Red River Girl

September 26, 2019
Catherine

Andree Duval recently read Red River Girl: The Life and Death of Tina Fontaine, a well-researched account of the disappearance and murder of Tina Fontaine, a young girl from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Haben

September 16, 2019
Catherine

Jennifer Robinson from the Amhestview Branch recently enjoyed Haben, a compelling new memoir from a deafblind woman who navigated, and ultimately triumphed over, Harvard Law. The following is her review: 

Staff Picks: The Royal Guide to Monster Slaying

September 13, 2019
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying by Kelley Armstrong, which she descibes as the perfect novel for young (and old) adventure seekers. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: The Book of Dreams

September 3, 2019
Catherine

Kristin Maloney recently enjoyed The Book of Dreams, the new novel by Nina George, the bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Little French Bistro. This is "a fascinating new novel that explores the thresholds between life and death." Here is Kristin's review: 

Art in the Library - Junior Edition!

August 27, 2019
Catherine

Starting this October we are expanding our Art in the Library exhibits to include the masterpieces of our younger patrons! Along with the works of local artists being displayed on the upper level of the Napanee Branch Library, we will now exhibit children’s artwork on the lower level for a three month time period.

Here are the details:

Staff Picks: Home for Erring and Outcast Girls

August 27, 2019
Catherine

Andree Duval, Relief Librarian, recently enjoyed reading Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler, a novel of historical fiction that is loosely based on a true story. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Albatross

August 19, 2019
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed Albatross by Canadian humour writer Terry Fallis, a book she says "will have you laughing and shaking your head in disbelief." Here is her review: