News

Staff Picks: The Book Artist

March 29, 2019
Catherine

Andree recently enjoyed The Book Artist by Mark Pryor, the eight installment in a series said by Publishers Weekly to have "a fascinating cast, an intriguing subplot, and a gorgeous Parisian setting that add to the story’s appeal." Here is Andree's review:

OLA Evergreen Award 2019

March 28, 2019
Catherine

The Ontario Library Association’s Evergreen Award, part of the Forest of Reading, is best described as the “readers’ choice” of Canadian literary awards. Each year, a list of ten nominees is selected by a committee of librarians and in September library patrons from all across the province can vote on their favourite. The winner will be announced during Ontario Public Library Week in October. 

Staff Picks: Carnegie’s Maid

March 22, 2019
Catherine

Kristin Maloney recently enjoyed Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict, a compelling novel of historical fiction that is said to be a good choice for fans of Downton Abbey. The following is Kristin's review:

Staff Picks: By Chance Alone

March 14, 2019
Catherine

Julie Wendland, Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed By Chance Alone by Max Eisen, a moving memoir that made it on to the Canada Reads 2019 shortlist. Here is her review:

Literary Trends 2019

March 14, 2019
Catherine

When you spend a lot of time around new books you begin to pick up on some trends. One or two popular books focus on a certain topic, or provide a comparable reading experience, and before you know it publishers are churning out piles of similarly-themed books.

March Break Madness 2019

March 8, 2019
Catherine

The County of L&A Libraries have scheduled five great events that are taking place during March Break. Each of these events are free and registration is not required. Drop in for some fun! See below for further details. 

Maker Madness in Amherstview

Staff Picks: My Lovely Wife

March 6, 2019
Catherine

Fans of Paula Hawkins, Clare Mackintosh or Ruth Ware should read ahead for Marg Wood's review of My Lovely Wife, a novel of psychological suspense that will be arriving at the library soon:

The soon to be released debut novel My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing may just be the guilty reading please of 2019! It is an extremely dark, twisted and compulsively readable tale of the seemingly perfect couple next door who are anything but perfect.

Staff Picks: Nightfall Berlin

February 28, 2019
Catherine

Andree recently enjoyed Nightfall Berlin by Jack Grimwood, which she described as "a smartly written novel that moves at break-neck speed." Read her review here:

Books for Marie Kondo fans

February 22, 2019
Catherine

The breakout success of Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up and subsequent Netflix show Tidying Up with Marie Kondo has sparked a huge interest in the topics of decluttering and minimalism. If you’ve enjoyed the television show, then I suggest your check out Kondo’s books but if you’ve already read Kondo’s books, you may be interested trying out some of the titles listed below.

Staff Picks: Homes

February 20, 2019
Catherine

Kelly recently read Homes: A Refugee Story, written by 15-year-old Abu Bakr al Rabeeah as he recounts what it was like to spend his childhood in the middle of a civil war. Read her review here: