News

Explore Rural Beauty and Fascinating History on Amherst Island

July 22, 2020
Mike Hector

Steeped in history, and embraced by captivating country and lakeside views, Amherst Island is quickly becoming a rather popular place for both locals and travellers alike. Situated a mere three kilometres off the North shore of Lake Ontario between Kingston and Glenora, Amherst Island is a charming and absolutely breathtaking location prime for scenic drives, cycling, delicious local food and so much more.    

Sip and Sample Local Craft Beverages in L&A County

July 22, 2020
Mike Hector

Lennox & Addington County is an emerging destination for lovers of locally produced beer, cider, wine and spirits. The Ontario craft beverage scene is immense, and only getting bigger. Each year, local breweries, wine estates and distilleries attract scores of travellers looking to explore Ontario’s blooming bounty of craft bevies.

Rebuild-Reopen-Revive (R3) Funding Now Available

July 21, 2020
Rob Plumley

Up to $2 million is available across Eastern Ontario for non-repayable contributions of up to $5,000 to assist women-led businesses to Rebuild-Reopen-Revive (R3).

Eligible activities for the funding should support the reopening, rebuilding and revival of applicant’s business, such as:

Cottage Escapes

July 20, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

Another summer escape is the cottage – whether you are heading up to yours or simply dreaming of owning one (especially now), we have helpful books on keeping your cottage looking great, or fiction that will help you dream of that day.

Canadiana Cottage

North & South Meet at Mellon Lake in #UnspoiledLA

July 20, 2020
Rob Plumley

The Lennox & Addington County boundaries fall within a long and narrow portion of Eastern Ontario. Driving from the most southerly point of Amherst Island north to the hamlet of Denbigh takes well over two hours to complete.

It's a beautiful journey. Southern views are dotted with bustling rural communities and areas of actively farmed land. The northern portion of the County is dominated by the rugged beauty of the Canadian Shield and too many lakes & rivers to count.

Inspired and Unwired: The Essence of Naturally L&A

July 19, 2020
Mike Hector

For many of us, the chaotic nature of life in the concrete jungle can eventually reach critical mass. Whether it’s a classic case of cubicle fever, or the persistent siege of car horns, emails and calendar updates - we all experience the inevitable need to break free of it - and escape. 

Adventures in East Asia

July 17, 2020
Catherine

If my reading list is any indication, 2020 must be the year that East Asia-set books flooded the Western market. Whether literary fiction, historical fiction, fantasy or mystery, there is no shortage of compelling new novels set in this vast, diverse region. Some are new translations while others are English originals, but they will all suit armchair travelers desperate to immerse themselves in new cultures. 

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Amendments to the Mandatory Face Coverings Order: Commercial and Municipal Establishmentsin KFL&A

July 17, 2020
Lindsey

With Stage 3 Reopening beginning Friday, July 17, Dr. Kieran Moore has made amendments to the Mandatory Face Coverings Order for Commercial and Municipal Establishments in KFL&A.

Please click here to find the memo highlighting changes to the order and frequently asked questions about face coverings.

My Favourite Fishing Spots in Lennox & Addington County

July 15, 2020
Ashley Rae

Lennox & Addington County has a very special place in my heart. I grew up in this region and am so grateful to be able to showcase just a small sample of the fishing opportunities found here. Here's a short list of 3 of my favourite fishing spots here in L&A (that I've experienced so far).